The Kiel's Adoption Journey

Our journey continues..

Being Told Not Us

Leave a comment

If you haven’t heard, the meeting last Thursday went great. We felt that we connected very well with the birth parents and we had lots of laughs and conversations. Of course, on our way home from the cities we were over thinking everything and wondering if we should have said that or this, but then we remember that we were ourselves and we did the best we could and that is what matters. We got a call on Friday and the birth parents were taking the weekend to think things through. They loved both families and did not know which one they wanted to continue with. The weekend felt like it was never going to end- usually it doesn’t feel long enough. Monday finally came and every time my phone rang I jumped. Finally towards the end of my work day I checked my email and I then knew the answer… They had chosen the other family. I knew if we were matched we were have been called. I called Jay and he checked his email and sure enough, we were not chosen. I didn’t know how to feel- I felt so torn. I was happy for this baby girl that she was going to be raised in a loving home and for the adoptive parents to be matched. I also rejoice that the birth parents found someone that they wanted to raise their baby girl. It was also tough because I wanted to know what made them choose them over us- was it something we said or did? We won’t know, but we know that God has us on this amazing journey and He has this beautiful baby in His plan that needs us. We just need to keep our head high, keep praying, and trust in the Lord that His Will will be done and continue on this beautiful journey to find out baby.

Author: Steph K

We are a fun loving couple that love to be outdoors and be active. A family was something we always dreamed of having. Through a couple of years of infertility we started the journey of adoption to find our baby. Thank you for taking the time to check out our blog. We are not writers, but share right from our heart.

Leave a comment